Marsden Old Girls are making their their mark on the world!
In all areas of Arts, Community, Culture, Sport, Science, Business and the Environment they contribute to and enhance our lives. We want to celebrate those who have achieved prominence not only in business but in all other areas of endeavour.

Do you know an Old Girl who could be considered for the Marsden Hall of Fame? If so, please check the criteria and email either our

Marsden Hall of Fame

Marsden is delighted to announce our 2014 Hall of Fame laureates:

  • Katherine Dienes-Williams for her international career in music
  • Catherine Ferguson for her achievements in medicine
  • Helen Ferner for her contribution to engineering

Full 2014 Hall of Fame citations

The Marsden Business Hall of Fame joint venture with Enterprise New Zealand Trust finished in 2009. So successful was the process of celebrating and acknowledging Marsden's high achieving Old Girls, that we have decided to extend the Hall of Fame to include consideration of those Old Girls who have achieved prominence in a wide range of fields, including business, science, arts, sports, community, etc. It is planned that up to three new laureates are inducted into the Marsden Hall of Fame each year

Criteria for Marsden Hall of Fame Nomination

Previous Laureates

Valerie Carson 
for her work as New Zealand’s foremost textile conservator
Zoe During (Posthumously) for her contribution to child and family health and social justice
Anne Gambrill for her service to the judiciary

Mary MacLeod
for her contribution to international banking
Sue Kedgley
for her contribution to public service, the environment, community issues and women's affairs
Professor Noeline Alcorn for her contribution to education
Beverley Shore Bennett for her contribution to the creative arts

Elsie Gibbons (Medicine) Posthumously for her contribution to New Zealand medicine
Miranda Harcourt (Arts) Award winning actress and director
Diana Lennon (Medicine) Professor of Child and Youth Population Health and Paediatrician in Infectious Diseases at Starship hospital
Margaret Neave (Medicine) Posthumously for her contribution to public health in New Zealand, the Pacific Islands and South East Asia

Sarah Billinghurst (Arts)  Arts Administrator,  Metropolitan Opera Company, New York
Jean Fleming (Science) Professor of Science Communication at Otago University
Fiame Mata'afa (Public service) Community and public service in Western Samoa
Katherine Mansfield (Literature) Posthumously for her contribution to New Zealand Literature.

Claudia Batten,
corporate attorney, co-founder and Vice President of software company Massive Inc
Valerie Cranfield (nee Handley), businesswoman and owner of Cranfields

Juliet McKee
(nee Broad), Independent Director and economist
Catherine Savage, Director and Investment Manager.

Jenny Morel
, founder and Managing Director of No 8 Ventures Management Ltd
Bronwen Holdsworth (nee Pearson), Managing Director of Pultron Composites Ltd

Full details on previous laureates