Marsden Scholarships

We offer a range of scholarships for students new to Marsden. Scholarships are available to New Zealand domestic students only.

Scholarships offered

Scholarships for entry in 2022 have closed. The following is a list of scholarships offered each year. Scholarships open in February and their respective closing dates will be posted here early in 2022.

Scholarship  Opening Date  Closing Date Exam Date
Primary Year 6 February 2022    
Years 7 and 9 February 2022    
Years 7–13 Māori and Pasifka February 2022   No exam *
Year 10–13 Excellence in Sports February 2022   No exam *
Senior School Years 11, 12 & 13 February 2022   No exam *

* There is no exam, but there may be other requirements (ie proof of sports or cultural achievements) please see our Scholarship FAQs page for details.


If you would like to arrange a tour please contact our Enrolment Registrar.


Marsden holds open events once a term.  These are a perfect opportunity to tour the school and chat to staff. For details of our next open event go to Experience Marsden.


We'd love you to visit and discover an environment in which your child will flourish.

Marsden Bursaries

Bursaries are grants that Marsden may offer to families who due to personal circumstances cannot afford the full fees. Please note Marsden Bursaries are not offered at all year levels. 


There are currently no Marsden Bursaries available.


External Scholarships

Mihingare (Anglican) Secondary School Scholarships

The Mihingare (Anglican) Secondary School Scholarships are for Māori secondary school students who demonstrate financial need, leadership qualities/ potential and a satisfactory educational background, and who will benefit from additional financial support for their secondary schooling. Each year, a maximum of 30 scholarships worth up to $10,000 each are offered.


Please visit the St Stephen’s and Queen Victoria Schools Trust Board website for more information.

Māori Education Trust Scholarships

The Māori Education Trust provides scholarships for Māori students undertaking secondary and tertiary study.  The secondary scholarship programme is made up of the following scholarships:

  • RJ Graham Scholarship - Y12-13     
  • Rose Hellaby Scholarship Y9
  • Sister Annie Henry Scholarship Y9-13
  • Tī Maru Māori Trust Secondary Boarding Scholarship Y9
  • VW & LM Rosier Scholarship Y13
  • Regina Rudland Memorial Scholarship Y13

For secondary application forms see their website




Leigh McCathie
Enrolment Registrar
(04) 476 8707